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In November 2019, Christine Campbell, Kansas Legal Services’ Statewide Pro Bono
Director, asked the Judicial Council to evaluate the impact unpaid fines and fees have on
expungement and consider whether unpaid costs, fees, fines, or restitution should be a reason
to deny expungement. The Judicial Council referred the study to its Criminal Law Advisory
Committee. The Criminal Law Advisory Committee made recommendations regarding the
expungement of adult criminal convictions. The Criminal Law Advisory Committee did not have
the necessary expertise to make recommendations regarding juvenile adjudication
expungements; therefore, the Criminal Law Advisory Committee recommended the Judicial
Council refer the study to the JO/CINC Advisory Committee. In December 2020, the Judicial
Council accepted the Criminal Law Advisory Committee’s recommendation and referred the
study to the JO/CINC Advisory Committee to consider the impact of unpaid costs, fines, fees, and
restitution on the expungement of juvenile adjudications.
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BACKGROUND

In 2020, the Judicial Council’s Criminal Law Advisory Committee considered the impact of
unpaid costs, fees, fines, and restitution on the expungement of adult criminal convictions. The
Criminal Law Advisory Committee recommended the adult expungement statutes, K.S.A. 2019
Supp. 12-4516 and 21-6614, be amended in the following ways:

(1) to allow the expungement waiting period to begin before the person has completed
payment of costs, fees, fines, or restitution;

(2) to prohibit courts from denying an expungement due to the petitioner’s inability to
pay costs, fees, fines, or restitution;

(3) to require payment of costs, fines, fees, and restitution after expungement; and

(4) to allow certain people to access documents and information regarding the costs,
fines, fees, and restitution after the expungement for the purpose of collecting the debt.

These recommendations were accepted by the Judicial Council® and submitted to the Kansas
legislature for consideration in 2021 S.B. 105.2

A juvenile offender case is a civil, not criminal, case. The term “juvenile adjudication” is
used to describe the civil finding by the court in a juvenile offender case. The term “conviction”
is used to describe a criminal finding by the court in an adult criminal case. The expungement of
a juvenile adjudication is governed by different statutes than expungement of adult criminal
convictions. The procedure for an expungement of a juvenile adjudication is set out in K.S.A. 2020
Supp. 38-2312. Not all juvenile adjudications are expungable; however, in general, if an

1 The Final Report of the Criminal Law Advisory Committee on Expungement and Unpaid Costs, Fees, Fines, and
Restitution (December 2020) can be found on the Judicial Council website,
http://www.kansasjudicialcouncil.org/Documents/Studies%20and%20Reports/2020%20Reports/Expungment%20F
ines%20and%20Fees%20Report.pdf.

2 At the time of this report, 2021 S.B. 105 had not been passed by the Kanas legislature.



adjudication is expungable, the court shall order the expungement of the record and files if the
court finds:

(1) the juvenile has reached 23 years of age or the statutorily prescribed waiting period has
elapsed (0, 1, or 2 years);

(2) the juvenile has not had another juvenile adjudication, been convicted in the adult
criminal system of a felony or misdemeanor, excluding traffic offenses, and no such
proceedings are pending seeking such a conviction or adjudication; and

(3) the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant expungement.
See K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312(e).

DISCUSSION

Waiting Period

In adult criminal expungement, depending on the type of conviction, a person may not
file a petition for expungement until a certain number of years (1, 3, 5 or 10 years) have passed.3
The Criminal Law Advisory Committee agreed that requiring the payment of all fines, fees, court
costs, and restitution before this “waiting period” begins is a heavy burden on indigent offenders.
The Criminal Law Advisory Committee recommended statutory amendments with the goal of
allowing the required waiting period to begin even if costs, fees, fines, or restitution are not yet
paid in full.

The juvenile adjudication expungement waiting period (0, 1, or 2 years) begins at “final
discharge.”* Unlike in adult criminal cases, “final discharge” is an easily identifiable event that
occurs within a relatively short timeframe in all juvenile offender cases regardless of whether the
juvenile has unpaid costs, fees, fines, or restitution. The Kansas juvenile offender statutes set
overall case length limits on juvenile offender cases (12, 15, or 18 months).> Regardless of
whether the juvenile has fulfilled all the requirements of his or her program or probation,
including payment of costs, fees, fines, and restitution, when the case length limit is reached the
court’s jurisdiction ends, the juvenile is discharged, and the waiting period required for
expungement begins. The JO/CINC Advisory Committee agreed that the failure to pay costs, fees,
fines or restitution does not prevent the expungement waiting period from beginning because

3K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4516 and 21-6614.
4K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312(e)(1).
5 K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2391(b).



there is a definite point in every juvenile offender case when the juvenile will be discharged
regardless of any failure to pay costs, fees, fines, or restitution. Therefore, the Committee does
not recommend any statutory amendments regarding the required “waiting period” for juvenile
adjudication expungement.

Ruling on Expungement

In its study, the Criminal Law Advisory Committee concluded some courts were denying
adult conviction expungement based solely on unpaid costs, fines, fees, or restitution even if the
petitioner was unable to pay those outstanding balances. In juvenile offender cases, the JO/CINC
Advisory Committee members reported that at the end of the case, some jurisdictions cancel any
unpaid costs, fines, fees, or restitution, while in other jurisdictions, outstanding costs, fees, fines,
or restitution are sent to collections. Generally, outstanding costs, fines, fees, and restitution are
not barriers to juvenile adjudication expungement; however, it could be in some cases. The
Committee agreed it is helpful for the juvenile expungement statute to mirror language in the
adult expungement statutes. Therefore, the Committee recommends K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-
2312(e)(2) mirror the language recommended by the Criminal Law Advisory Committee to
prohibit the court from denying the petition for expungement due to a juvenile’s inability to pay
outstanding costs, fees, fines, or restitution while also allowing the court to consider an
unwillingness to pay as a factor in denying the expungement.

The Committee also recommends the subsection include a clear statement that the
expungement shall not release the juvenile from the obligation to pay the costs, fines, fees, or
restitution unless the court otherwise orders that the juvenile is no longer responsible for the
outstanding balance. The Committee recommended K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312(e)(2) be
amended as follows:

“(2) Thecourtmayrequire that allcourt costs, feesandrestitutionshallbepaid:

shall not deny the petition for expungement due to the juvenile’s inability to pay outstanding

costs, fees, fines, or restitution. An unwillingness, rather than inability, to pay such fees and costs

can be a factor in denying expungement. Unless the court orders to the contrary, expungement

shall not release the juvenile from the obligation to pay outstanding costs, fees, fines, or

restitution.



Collection of Outstanding Debt

Generally, when a record is expunged, it is sealed and only accessible by a limited number
of people in specific circumstances. To facilitate the collection of outstanding debt after an adult
conviction expungement, the Criminal Law Advisory Committee recommended K.S.A. 2020 12-
4516(i) and 21-6614(i) include a subsection allowing a list of individuals limited access to
documents and information regarding the outstanding costs, fees, fines, or restitution. While
costs, fees, fines, and restitution are ordered in juvenile offender cases, the amount of the costs,
fee, fine, or restitution is often lower than in an adult case, taking into consideration that the
payor is a minor without the earning capacity of an adult. The JO/CINC Advisory Committee
agreed that post expungement record access for collection purposes is a rare problem; however,
while evaluating the request for expungement, if the court is concerned about the ability to
collect the debt after the expungement, K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312(k)(5) already allows the court,
in the expungement order, to specifically order that certain people have access to the record.

Adjudication and Conviction History

Though unrelated to the issue of payment of costs, fines, fees, and restitution, the
JO/CINC Advisory Committee took up another juvenile expungement issue identified by Kansas
Legal Services. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312(e)(1)(B) states that the court shall order the
expungement if, “since the final discharge of the juvenile, the juvenile has not been convicted of
any felony or of a misdemeanor other than a traffic offense or adjudicated as a juvenile offender
... and no proceedings are pending seeking such a conviction or adjudication[.]” Unlike the adult
expungement statutes®, the juvenile expungement statute does not limit the review of the
petitioner’s criminal history to felonies within the two years preceding the filing of the petition
for expungement. Because the juvenile adjudication expungement statutes require a review of
the petitioner’s entire criminal history without limiting the review to felonies convictions within
a set timeframe, the statute creates a higher barrier to expungement of a juvenile adjudication
than an adult conviction.

The JO/CINC Advisory Committee agreed the juvenile adjudication and criminal conviction
history requirements for expunging a juvenile adjudication should not be higher than the
requirements for expunging an adult conviction. Therefore, the Committee recommends K.S.A.
38-2312(e)(1)(B) be amended as follows:

6 See K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 12-4516(h) and 21-6614(h) (the court shall order expungement if the petitioner has not
been convicted of a felony in the past two years and no proceeding involving any crime is presently pending or
being instituted against the petitioner).



“(B) since-the-final-discharge-ofthejuvenile; in the past two years, the juvenile has not
been convicted of a felony erefa-misdemeanorotherthanatrafficoffense-or adjudicated as a

juvenile offender under the revised Kansas juvenile justice code and no proceedings are pending
seeking such a conviction or adjudication; . ..”

RECOMMENDATIONS

The Committee recommends K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312(e) be amended in the following
ways:

(1) to prohibit courts from denying an expungement due to a juvenile’s inability to pay
costs, fees, fines, or restitution;

(2) to require payment of costs, fees, fines, or restitution after expungement unless
otherwise ordered by the court;

(3) to remove consideration of adult criminal misdemeanor convictions from the adult
criminal history review; and

(4) to limit the review of the juvenile’s juvenile adjudication history and adult criminal
felony conviction history to the two years preceding the expungement.

The Committee requests the Judicial Council request introduction of the Committee’s
recommendations in the next legislative session.



Committee’s Statutory Amendment Recommendations

K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 38-2312. Expungement of records; docket fee

(a) Except as provided in subsections (b) and (c), any records or files specified in this code
concerning a juvenile may be expunged upon application to a judge of the court of the county
in which the records or files are maintained. The application for expungement may be made by
the juvenile, if 18 years of age or older or, if the juvenile is less than 18 years of age, by the
juvenile’s parent or next friend.

(b) There shall be no expungement of records or files concerning acts committed by a juvenile
which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its
repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5402, and amendments thereto, murder in the first degree; K.S.A. 21-3402,
prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5403, and amendments thereto, murder in the second degree;
K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5404, and amendments thereto, voluntary
manslaughter; K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5405, and amendments thereto,
involuntary manslaughter; K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5401, and
amendments thereto, capital murder; K.S.A. 21-3442, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5405(a)(3)
or (a)(5), and amendments thereto, involuntary manslaughter while driving under the influence
of alcohol or drugs; K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5503, and amendments
thereto, rape; K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5506(a), and amendments
thereto, indecent liberties with a child; K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5506(b),
and amendments thereto, aggravated indecent liberties with a child; K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its
repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto, aggravated criminal sodomy; K.S.A. 21-
3510, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto, indecent solicitation of
a child; K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto,
aggravated indecent solicitation of a child; K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5510,
and amendments thereto, sexual exploitation of a child; K.S.A. 21-5514(a), and amendments
thereto, internet trading in child pornography; K.S.A. 21-5514(b), and amendments thereto,
aggravated internet trading in child pornography; K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A.
21-5604(b), and amendments thereto, aggravated incest; K.S.A. 21-3608, prior to its repeal, or
K.S.A. 21-5601(a), and amendments thereto, endangering a child; K.S.A. 21-3609, prior to its
repeal, or K.S.A. 21-5602, and amendments thereto, abuse of a child; or which would constitute
an attempt to commit a violation of any of the offenses specified in this subsection.

(c) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, for any offender who is required to register
as provided in the Kansas offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and amendments
thereto, there shall be no expungement of any conviction or any part of the offender’s criminal
record while the offender is required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration
act.

(d) When a petition for expungement is filed, the court shall set a date for a hearing on the
petition and shall give notice thereof to the county or district attorney. The petition shall state:
(1) The juvenile’s full name; (2) the full name of the juvenile as reflected in the court record, if
different than (1); (3) the juvenile’s sex and date of birth; (4) the offense for which the juvenile



was adjudicated; (5) the date of the trial; and (6) the identity of the trial court. Except as
otherwise provided by law, a petition for expungement shall be accompanied by a docket fee in
the amount of $176. On and after July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2025, the supreme court may
impose a charge, not to exceed $19 per case, to fund the costs of non-judicial personnel. All
petitions for expungement shall be docketed in the original action. Any person who may have
relevant information about the petitioner may testify at the hearing. The court may inquire into
the background of the petitioner.

(e)(1) After hearing, the court shall order the expungement of the records and files if the court
finds that:

(A)(i) The juvenile has reached 23 years of age or that two years have elapsed since the
final discharge;

(ii) one year has elapsed since the final discharge for an adjudication concerning acts
committed by a juvenile which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a violation
of K.S.A. 21-6419, and amendments thereto; or

(iii) the juvenile is a victim of human trafficking, aggravated human trafficking or
commercial sexual exploitation of a child, the adjudication concerned acts committed
by the juvenile as a result of such victimization, including, but not limited to, acts
which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 21-6203 or 21-
6419, and amendments thereto, and the hearing on expungement occurred on or
after the date of final discharge. The provisions of this clause shall not allow an
expungement of records or files concerning acts described in subsection (b);

(B) since-the-final-discharge-of thejuvenile; in the past two years, the juvenile has not
been convicted of a felony erefamisdemeanorotherthanatrafficoffense or

adjudicated as a juvenile offender under the revised Kansas juvenile justice code and no
proceedings are pending seeking such a conviction or adjudication; and

(C) the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant expungement.

(2) Fhecourtmayregquire thatallcourtcostsfeesandrestitutionshallbepaid- The court

shall not deny the petition for expungement due to the juvenile’s inability to pay
outstanding costs, fees, fines, or restitution. An unwillingness, rather than inability, to pay
such fees and costs can be a factor in denying expungement. Unless the court orders to the
contrary, expungement shall not release the juvenile from the obligation to pay outstanding
costs, fees, fines, or restitution.

(f) Upon entry of an order expunging records or files, the offense which the records or files
concern shall be treated as if it never occurred, except that upon conviction of a crime or
adjudication in a subsequent action under this code the offense may be considered in
determining the sentence to be imposed. The petitioner, the court and all law enforcement
officers and other public offices and agencies shall properly reply on inquiry that no record or



file exists with respect to the juvenile. Inspection of the expunged files or records thereafter
may be permitted by order of the court upon petition by the person who is the subject thereof.
The inspection shall be limited to inspection by the person who is the subject of the files or
records and the person’s designees.

(g) A certified copy of any order made pursuant to subsection (a) or (d) shall be sent to the
Kansas bureau of investigation, which shall notify every juvenile or criminal justice agency
which may possess records or files ordered to be expunged. If the agency fails to comply with
the order within a reasonable time after its receipt, such agency may be adjudged in contempt
of court and punished accordingly.

(h) The court shall inform any juvenile who has been adjudicated a juvenile offender of the
provisions of this section.

(i) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the maintenance of information relating
to an offense after records or files concerning the offense have been expunged if the
information is kept in a manner that does not enable identification of the juvenile.

(j) Nothing in this section shall be construed to permit or require expungement of files or
records related to a child support order registered pursuant to the revised Kansas juvenile
justice code.

(k) Whenever the records or files of any adjudication have been expunged under the provisions
of this section, the custodian of the records or files of adjudication relating to that offense shall
not disclose the existence of such records or files, except when requested by:

(1) The person whose record was expunged;

(2) a private detective agency or a private patrol operator, and the request is
accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with an
application for employment with such agency or operator by the person whose record
has been expunged;

(3) a court, upon a showing of a subsequent conviction of the person whose record has
been expunged;

(4) the secretary for aging and disability services, or a designee of the secretary, for the
purpose of obtaining information relating to employment in an institution, as defined in
K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas department for aging and
disability services of any person whose record has been expunged;

(5) a person entitled to such information pursuant to the terms of the expungement
order;

(6) the Kansas lottery, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request
is being made to aid in determining qualifications for employment with the Kansas



lottery or for work in sensitive areas within the Kansas lottery as deemed appropriate by
the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

(7) the governor or the Kansas racing commission, or a designee of the commission, and
the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in
determining qualifications for executive director of the commission, for employment
with the commission, for work in sensitive areas in parimutuel racing as deemed
appropriate by the executive director of the commission or for licensure, renewal of
licensure or continued licensure by the commission;

(8) the Kansas sentencing commission; or
(9) the Kansas bureau of investigation, for the purposes of:

(A) Completing a person’s criminal history record information within the central
repository in accordance with K.S.A. 22-4701 et seq., and amendments thereto;
or

(B) providing information or documentation to the federal bureau of
investigation, in connection with the national instant criminal background check
system, to determine a person’s qualification to possess a firearm.

() The provisions of subsection (k)(9) shall apply to all records created prior to, on and after July
1, 2011.
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